Newcastle Permanent Community Awards for 2019 Announced

November 8th, 2019

The Newcastle Permanent Community Awards for 2019 were announced recently. These awards provide the much needed recognition for the people that keep our game running throughout the year. The coaches, the volunteers and the referees contributing each week to their local footballing communities.

The winners of the Hunter Valley Football Community Awards are:


Coach of the Year

Joel Short

Joel coached across three different age groups at Cessnock United FC (U/7 & U/10) & Cessnock City Hornets (U/12) in 2019. Joel has created a great environment for his young players where they can feel comfortable to approach him about anything. He is always positive with his teams; showing the true meaning of the game to these up and coming footballers.


Volunteer of the Year

Cath Easdown

Cath is a tireless volunteer at Gresford Vacy FC – known as the glue of the club. Cath has devoted an enormous amount of time and energy to the club over the past 16 years. Not only is Cath the treasurer and has been so for the last decade, but she is also the backbone of the club – helping out in whatever way she can.


Referee of the Year

Tanya Jones

Throughout the year Tanya has excelled and become a very competent junior referee. Her ability to control and officiate games with confidence has impressed team officials, committee members and spectators alike throughout the 2019 season.




Related Topics:

More News

More News

Davies receives 2023 Bill Turner Memorial Award for Services to Football
Hunter Valley Football congratulates Wal Davies on being a 2023 recipient of… [more]
Promotion, relegation to return as Zone Football League connects to NNSWF premier competitions
Northern NSW Football is delighted to announce the return of promotion and… [more]
Crouch receives 2022 Phyllis Avery Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to Football
Hunter Valley Football Association is proud to announce David Crouch as the… [more]

Around The Clubs

2024 CLUB CLASSIFIEDS Maitland Junior FC are looking for players for the… [more]
NNSWF Local Champion Awards announced for June
Northern NSW Football is delighted to announce the recipients of its Local… [more]
Office of Children’s Guardian webinar the focus of Working with Children Week  
Northern NSW Football will host a webinar in conjunction with the Office of… [more]